What's the difference between a bog and a swamp?

Both are types of wetlands. A swamp is a wetland capable of supporting woody growth like large trees while a bog has poor soil with a high peat moss content. Swamps are often deeper than bogs and are home to many more kinds of flora and fauna than bogs.