What's a blues?

Blues is a music genre and musical form which originated in the Deep South of the United States around the 1860s by African-Americans from roots in African-American work songs and spirituals.Blues incorporated spirituals,work songs, field hollers, shouts, chants, and rhymed simple narrative ballads.