How big was the nineteen eighty nine earthquake in san francisco?

The Loma Prieta earthquake struck on October 17 1989, at 5:04 pm. It's magnitude was 6.9 on the Richter scale.

---

On October 17, 1989, a magnitude 6.9 earthquake hit the San Francisco Bay Area, killing 67 people and causing more than $5 billion in damages.