How long do you cook stew?

I brown my beef thoroughly, then add potatoes, onions, celery, carrots, salt and pepper, and beef broth; cover and let come to a boil. I let it boil for about 15 to 20 minutes, then lower the heat and simmer for at least three hours. Peas are added just before serving and allowed to heat through.