What is the h.a.r.pp. machine?

A HARPP machine is the most capable transmitter for study of the ionosphere. The ionosphere is 50 to 400 miles above Earth right at the edge of space w/ neutral upper atmosphere, the ionosphere forms the boundary between Earth's lower atmosphere — where we live and breathe — and the vacuum of space.