What is meat tenderizer made out of?

The primary active ingredient in commercial meat tenderizer is bromelain; or commonly used papain. Both of these are natural enzymes; bromelain is derived from pineapple and papain from papaya (another one is ficin, derived from figs).

---

Monosodium Glutamate