What is the pink advent candle for?

The pink candle symbolizes joy. It is called the Shepard’s Candle, or the Gaudeté Candle. It is lit on the 3rd Sunday of Advent, Gaudeté Sunday, the halfway point of Advent. A time for rejoicing. Scripture Philippians 4:4, Rejoice in the Lord always. In Latin, “Gaudeté in Domino semper.”