What is an ancient german called?

German tribes of the Roman period spoke Gothic, Burgundian, Vandalic, Allemanic and others. The earliest form of modern German, "Deutsch" or "Hochdeutsch", is called Old High German or "Althochdeutsch". Old High German is a group of western germanic languages originating in the 8th century.