Was cleopatra bitten by a snake?

Cleopatra did not die from a snake bite but a lethal drug cocktail that included opium and hemlock, according to German scientists. The Queen of the Nile ended her life in 30BC and it has always been held that it was the bite of an asp – now called the Egyptian cobra – which caused her demise