When did brenda lee start singing?

Brenda Lee, an American singer born in 1944, was the top charting solo female vocalist of the 1960s. As a child she sang solos in church. At age six, she won a school singing contest. The prize was an appearance on an Atlanta Georgia radio station, which continued for a year and launched her career.