What are mothballs used for?

Mothballs kill clothes moths and other insects. Meant to be used in airtight containers so that the fumes are trapped and kill any clothes moths inside. Used out in the open, they can harm people, pets, or wildlife that may touch or eat the mothballs, or breathe their vapors.