Is it okay to eat the rind of cheese?

So long as the cheese coating in question was not made by man alone (like the red wax on Gouda) the rind is safe to eat. Depending on your palate, you may find that a little rind complements the cheese and enhances its flavor. You may also find it too strong, bitter, moldy and textually unpleasant.