How is the constitution ratified?

An amendment may be proposed by a 2/3s vote of both Houses of Congress, or, if 2/3s of the States request one, by a convention called for that purpose. The amendment must then be ratified by 3/4s of the State legislatures, or 3/4s of conventions called in each State for ratification.