How tall is the tallest mountain on earth?

That depends on how you measure it: from sea level, Mt. Everest is tallest, at 29,200 ft.. Measuring from base to peak, Mt. Mauna Kea is tallest, at 33,500 ft., though 19,704 ft. of that is under water. Measuring from Earth's center, the peak of Mt. Chimborazo is 6,864 ft. higher than Everest's.