How many languages are latin based?

The 5 major ones are French, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, and Rumanian. However there are also many minor Latin languages, such as Occitan, Catalan, Arpitan, and Romansch. The exact number depends where you draw the line between a language and a dialect.