How do you know when a fried egg is done?

Since individual preferences vary, the best way to know when a fried egg is done is to look at both the egg white and yolk to see if it is the desired consistency. The desired consistency of a fried egg is usually achieved between 3 to 6 minutes, when cooked in a pan preheated with oil or butter.