How many chromosomes do humans have?

In humans, each cell normally contains 23 pairs of chromosomes, for a total of 46. Twenty-two of these pairs, called autosomes, look the same in both males and females. The 23rd pair, the sex chromosomes, differ between males and females.

---

Humans have 23 different pairs of chromosomes for a total of 46. People with down syndrome have an extra chromosome making a total of 47.