What year did pompeii happen?

Pompeii, along with Herculaneum and many villas in the surrounding area, was buried under 4 to 6 m (13 to 20 ft) of volcanic ash and pumice in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius in AD 79.

---

The volcanic eruption of Mount Vesuvius in Pompeii occurred in AD 79.