Who is known as the father of history?

Herodotus (about 484 to 413 BC) was a Greek writer and geographer whom is credited as "The Father of History." Around 424 BC, he wrote "The Histories," the first comprehensive and analytical account of the Greek and Persian wars, not just the retelling of incidents that occurred during the wars.