What is a dime drop?

In the mid 20th century, to drop a dime or dime drop had two meanings, 1. It meant to call someone on the telephone because a call would cost ten cents. 2. It was also used when informing, snitching, or calling the authorities on. In the 21st century, the latter 2nd meaning took precedence.