What is a substitute for eight ounces of cream cheese?

It entirely depends on what it is you're using the cream cheese for. You might want to use cottage cheese, or marscarpone cheese, sour cream, or even fresh mozzarella--but unless we know what you're making we can't give you a definitive answer.