What is the z. in generation z. stand for?

The term "Gen Z" actually comes after Generation X, the defined generation before Millennials. Gen Z follows in alphabetical order. According to Pew Research, it has been decided that those born between the years of 1997 and 2012 are considered members of Gen Z.

---

It's a period of time between 1996 and 2009, people born during this period are considered generation z