When was the first meteor shower?

The first observations of meteor shower date back to 687 BC, making the Lyrids the earliest recorded meteor shower. Astronomers recognized the Lyrids as an annual shower in 1839 and connected it it to its parent comet, C1861 G1, in 1867.