Where did as the crow flies come from?

Pascal Treguer, of the site WordHistories.net, found that the earliest known instance of the phrase “as the crow flies” comes from Sentiments Relating to the Late Negotiation in The Gentleman’s and London Magazine in December 1761. The phrase refers to a direct path, similar to the idiom “beeline”