When do babies get a heart beat?

A fetal heartbeat may first be detected by a vaginal ultrasound as early as 5 and half to 6 weeks after gestation. That's when a fetal pole, the first visible sign of a developing embryo, can sometimes be seen. But between 6 and half to 7 weeks after gestation, a heartbeat can be better assessed