Why is alix leaving grey's anatomy?

After 15 years on ABC's medical drama "Grey's Anatomy," Dr. Alex Karev's exit from the show came about because Justin Chambers, the actor who plays him, simply felt -- according to multiple interviews -- that it was time to move on and try new things.