How deep is a sidewalk?

The best thickness for concrete sidewalks is 4 inches for walkways and 6 inches if cars will be driving across it, such as a sidewalk in front of a driveway. A sidewalk must be thick enough to bear the projected load. A sidewalk that is too thin can crack and erode under pressure.