What is mark fruit?

Monk fruit is also known as Swingle fruit (Siraitia grosvenorii) or lo han guo. It's from the same food family as gourds like pumpkin and melon. It's been used for medicinal purposes in eastern countries to treat intestinal problems and the common cold. Its use as a sweetener is fairly new