How old was john wayne when he started acting?

Wayne's first starring role came in 1930 with The Big Trail, a film directed by Raoul Walsh. It was during this time that Marion Morrison became “John Wayne,” when director Walsh didn't think Marion was a good name for an actor playing a tough western hero.