What does a material girl mean?

A material girl is a female concerned with material gain, primarily. Intangible gains, like friendship, family, and nonsocial benefits you can't hold in your hand, like education and human rights are viewed as being less valuable by "material" girls and boys. Material is the opposite of intangible.