What does medium high heat mean?

Medium-high heat is between the middle and the highest setting on the knob of the stove. This heat setting is commonly used for cooking meats, sauteing, searing, and pan-frying. Medium-high heat is used to cook foods like french toast, omelets, homemade caramel sauce, and ground beef.