What does the walk mean?

‘The walk’ usually refers to one having to do something they are not wanting/comfortable doing. I.e. - Gena’s getting ready to take ‘the walk’ to tell her dad she broke the window. I.e.-Steve’s on death row and is getting ready to take ‘the walk’ to the electric chair.