What's the internal temperature of chicken supposed to be when cooked?

Cook dark meat chicken to an internal temperature of 165 degrees and cook white meat to an internal temperature of 145 degrees. In both cases, it is best to remove the chicken from the heat when it reaches a few degrees below the target temperature and let the residual heat finish cooking it.