Where was the first nuclear weapon detonated?

Codenamed Trinity, the first Nuclear Bomb denotation occurred July 16, 1945, at location called the Jornada del Muerto, a site located 210 miles south of Los Alamos, New Mexico, on the barren plains of the Alamogordo Bombing Range.

---

July 16, 1945, when a plutonium implosion device was tested at a site located 210 miles south of Los Alamos, New Mexico, on the barren plains of the Alamogordo Bombing Range, known as the Jornada del Muerto.