When did cable television come out?

Beginning almost simultaneously in Arkansas, Oregon and Pennsylvania in 1948, cable originally brought distant over-the-air television signals from miles away to mountainous or geographically remote areas. In the 1960s and 1970s, cable TV expanded into bigger cities and major metro areas.

---

Originally in the late 60s to bring TV to areas out of range of signals. The early to mid 80s were the maximum growth period.