How many alphabets does japanese have?

Japanese does not have an alphabet like English where letters represent one or more individual sounds. Instead, Japanese has a set of characters (kanji) representing whole words or ideas, and two sets of characters representing syllables along with their stress and timing (hiragana and katakana).