What does the term bated breath mean?

What does the term bated breath mean? What does it mean to say I wait with bated breath? with bated breathfeeling very anxious or excited He waited for a reply to his offer with bated breath.

---

Bated breath means holding one's breathing with heightened anticipation.. it can often be used sarcastically, meaning one doesn't care at all what someone is going to do in the near future.