What's the substitute for nutmeg?

The best substitute for ground nutmeg is ground cinnamon. Cinnamon is the most common substitute. You can even use ginger, mace, allspice or cloves as freshly grated nutmeg substitute. Pumpkin pie spice is a great substitute, if you run out of nutmeg while baking an apple pie.