What's a substitute for white rice vinegar?

The best substitute for white rice vinegar is apple cider vinegar. For a tangy and less sweet alternative try white balsamic vinegar or white wine. Other substitutes include champagne vinegar, red wine vinegar, herb vinegar, or sherry vinegar.