What's a substitute for white rice vinegar?

The best substitute for white rice vinegar is apple cider vinegar. For a tangy and less sweet alternative try white balsamic vinegar or white wine. Other substitutes include champagne vinegar, red wine vinegar, herb vinegar, or sherry vinegar.

---

Apple cider vinegar can be used. Avoid using balsamic or other strongly flavored vinegars. Lemon juice added to water is a substitute. Lemon juice can also be added to a white wine like chardonnay or pinot grigio to bring the acidity to approximately the same level as white rice vinegar.