How did las vegas get it's name?

In the early 1700's a scout by the name of Rafael Rivera was the first European to discover this desert oasis. He named the valley "Las Vegas," which translates roughly into "The Meadows," to acknowledge the wild grasses which grew in the nutrient rich desert soil with ample supply of water.