When was the first cartoon?

Fantasmagorie is considered to be the oldest cartoon in the world. The very short animation is one of the earliest examples of hand-drawn animation. It was created in 1908 by French cartoonist Émile Cohl.

---

According to Britannica Library, Émile Cohl developed a form of animation that used stick figures. Many film historians consider Émile Cohl's Fantasmagorie (1908) to be the first animated cartoon.