What's a quote?

A quote is a repeat or copy-out of a group of words from a text or speech, typically with an indication that one is not the original author or speaker.

---

To quote Wikipedia, “A quotation is the repetition of a sentence, phrase, or passage from speech or text that someone has said or written.” The Purdue Online Writing Lab addresses differences between quoting, paraphrasing, and summarizing, as well as providing attribution.