Why do astronauts drink tang?

Tang was added to make the water taste better. In space, the water was icky, so the astronauts would add flavors to it. Tang might not have been the only flavor they used - when an astronaut went to flavor his water, the powder came from a plain packet labeled "orange drink" or some other flavor.