Is there a fish called a dab?

Yes; the common dab is an edible flatfish of the family Pleuronectidae. It is native to shallow seas around Northern Europe, in particular the North Sea, where it lives on sandy bottoms down to depths of about 330 feet (100m). It can reach 16 in. (40cm) in length and can weigh up to 2.2 lbs (1 kg).