Why do cats knead with their paws?

Kitten paws knead against the mother cat's breasts to induce milk to be released. Adult cats continue this behavior when they're feeling most relaxed, content, and loved. That's often when they're being petted on their owner's lap. Think of kneading as a distinct expression of adoration.