How long can a plant live?

Plants may live for just a few months or for hundreds of years. Annual plants such as the nasturtium, germinate (sprout), flower, produce seeds, and die within 1 year. Biennial plants including carrot, take 2 years to complete the same process. Given optimum conditions some plants can live forever.