How old you have to be to play five nights at freddy's?

There is no legal requirement to play any game. Instead, the ESRB ratings are only recommendations. Given that, the Five Nights at Freddy's games are generally recommended for those aged 12 and up due to the scares that the games may give younger children and some of the themes (such as murder).