How big is a fifty inch tv?

A television's size is taken from a diagonal measurement. A television advertised as a '50-inch TV,' has a screen that is 50 inches from the left corner to the top right. Such a television might have an outside dimension of 44 inches by 27 inches. Each 50 inch TV could be slightly different.