Why do they call a strawberry a strawberry?

Researchers say the origin of the name is uncertain, but it is possibly is a corruption of "strewn berry", as a strawberry plant produced runners looking like its berries were strewn about the ground. Another thought is that the seeds on the surface resemble bits of straw.