What are fermented grapes?

Fermentation is the chemical breakdown of a substance by bacteria, yeasts, or other microorganisms, typically involving effervescence and the giving off of heat. One of the products of fermentation is alcohol, so people deliberately ferment grapes to make what is called wine.